Category Archives: Databases

Find M & A deals. Zephyr database trial now live!

The Library has set up a trial to Zephyr from Bureau van Dijk until 22nd September.
Zephyr provides comprehensive M&A data with integrated detailed company information.
You will find the link to Zephyr and details of the trial here http://www2.warwick.ac.uk/services/library/using/practicalinfo/eaccess/trials/
You will be able to link Zephyr data through to Fame and Amadeus, and link Financial and Company Data from Fame and Amadeus through to Zephyr

Data available: Global business tax rates

New Euromonitor data is now available on Passport: globally cross-comparable Business Taxes

The following categories of data are now available:

Number of Tax Payments
Time Spent to Pay Taxes
Total Tax Rate:
Labour Tax and Contributions Rate
Profit Tax Rate
Other Tax Rates

 

From the Category Tree select

-Business Environment

-Ease of doing business ranking

Then

-Paying Taxes

Then

Total Tax Rate

Passport provides access to internationally comparable statistics and data as well as full-text market reports and insightful comment from expert industry and country analysts.

Passport can be accessed via Encore http://encore.lib.warwick.ac.uk/iii/encore/record/C__Re1000180 .

You will need your IT username and password to log in.

Global Business Intelligence

The Library’s subscription to Global Business Intelligence will be expiring in January. Instead of renewing, we will be taking out a new product from the same providers, called Power eTrack.

The industries covered within Global Business Intelligence will be changing considerably. At present coverage includes:

Pharmaceuticals
Medical Technology
Oil and Gas
Chemicals
Power
Semiconductors
Mining

 The only content which will remain in Global Business Intelligence is Pharmaceuticals and Medical Technology.

 The changes will mean that Mining content will be removed and placed into a new product which is not available for academic institutions.

Oil and Gas, Chemicals, Power, and Semiconductors will be removed and placed into Power eTrack.

As Global Business Intelligence will  no longer provide the same coverage, coupled with our usage concentrated on Oil and Gas, Chemicals, Power and Semiconductors, moving our subscription to Power eTrack will ensure continued access to this data.

Power eTrack will be listed in the database section on the Library website when it becomes available in January.

Harvard Business Review: Changes to access

As of August 1, 2013, Harvard Publishing has restricted 500 ‘frequently used’ articles within the Harvard Business Review (HBR) to ‘read-only.’ Meaning, when you click on the PDF you will not be able to save, print or download the article. The restricted articles can only be viewed on-screen.

Access to HBR is available through Business Source Premier via the Library website. The large majority of HBR articles are still available for you save, print and download to access at a later time.

For the 500 read only articles, you will see the following message: “The publisher offers limited access to this article. The full text cannot be printed or saved.”

Searching HBR

It is recommended that when searching for specific articles featured in HBR you search directly within Business Source Premier, rather than Encore.

When searching for a specific HBR article directly in Encore, the 500 read only articles will have their full text read-only link ‘hidden’ when you are referred to Business Source Premier.

Bloomberg terminal now in the Library

We currently have a Bloomberg terminal in the Library on a trial basis. It is located on Floor 1 next to the Datastream terminal.

As with Datastream, the Bloomberg terminal will work on a booking system using the folder located by the terminal.

The terminal is funded by WBS but students from any department may access it by logging in with their Warwick username and password.

At present the Academic Support Librarians are not able to offer support with its usage. However, the terminal does offer a live chat service direct to the Bloomberg help desk.

We expect it to be in place until Christmas but there may be further access after a review of its usage.

There are also Bloomberg terminals in the Business School if WBS members wish to access them.

New databases for company and industry research

This year we have access to two new databases, one for market research, the other for company information.

Global Business Intelligence (also known as GBI Research) was purchased as a replacement for Business Insights. This database provides analysis of industry-shaping issues worldwide through key data and forecasts. The industry coverage matches that of Business Insights, with a focus on:

  • Pharmaceuticals
  • Medical Equipment
  • Oil & Gas
  • Chemicals
  • Clean Technology
  • Power
  • Semiconductors
  • Mining

Reports can be viewed online, downloaded as a whole into Microsoft Office, or you can select tables and data to download individually.

Global Company Intelligence offers detailed company reports across a broad range of markets and industries.

The available content for each company can be seen at a glance in the results list from the following icons:

Global Company Intelligence | Home-1

The different types of content available are:
C = Company information, facts and figures
$ = Detailed financial information and ratios
S = Detailed SWOT analysis for the company
P = Premium, in-depth company intelligence
N = News stories relating to the company
D = Deals coverage relating to the company

The financial and SWOT benchmarking tool allows you to compare of custom lists of companies based on criteria such as industry, location, revenue and market cap.

Both databases can be accessed by current Warwick staff and students via Encore.

Marketline Country Statistics

I have blogged previously about accessing economic data through the Library’s subscription to Global Market Information Database (GMID). You now have another option for quick access to economic data, this time from Marketline’s Country Statistics database.

This is a part of the Marketline subscription that is often missed, because it is not accessible from the main search or browse functions. Instead, you need to access the separate Country Statistics product through the database menu.

Marketline Country Statistics

If you’ve used GMID for economic data before then the process for making a request will be familiar to you. First select the country or countries you are interested in, then the economic indicators. For most indicators you will have a choice of the absolute value or % growth. Finally you can choose to view the results as a table, which can be downloaded to Excel, or analyse the results and create various charts from the data.

Marketline Country Statistics Request

Warwick staff and students can access Marketline from Encore.